top of page

"The test of our progress is not whether we add more to the abundance of those who have much; it is whether we provide enough for those who have too little."


President Franklin D. Roosevelt

The Groton Democratic Town Committee

The Groton Democratic Town Committee is organized and constituted under authority of and in accordance with the provisions of the General Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and the Charter of the Massachusetts Democratic Party.


Its purposes are to foster and advance the ideals and aims of the Democratic Party, to work in cooperation with the Democratic State Committee, to aid in carrying out the planks of the State and National Convention of the Party, to work and organize for the success of Democratic candidates, and to strengthen the Democratic Party in the town, the Commonwealth, and the nation.

The Groton Democratic Town Committee approaches local issues by searching for solutions that are tailored to Groton’s specific needs while at the same time, adding our voice to the Democratic Party at the regional, state, and national levels.

Official Documents:


Success! Message received.

In accordance with the charter of the Massachusetts Democratic Party, the

Groton Democratic Town Committee elects members every four years during the presidential primary.


Honorary Lifetime Members:

Michael Brady
Carl Canner

Michelle Collette - Affirmative Action & Outreach Advisor

Peter Cunningham

Louise Gaskins

Ray Lyons

Jennifer Mieth - Chair

Richard Muehlke

Carolyn Perkins

Elected Members:

Adam Burnett

Deborah Busser

Marvin Caldwell

Carol Canner

Ginny Koslow-DiMola

Seeta Durvasula

Robert FleischerVice Chair & Secretary

Phil Francisco
Jane E. Fry

Zach Gavel

Robert Hanninen

Lindy Hanninen

Patricia Hartvigsen - Assistant Treasurer

Monica Hinojos

Mary Jennings

Leslie Lathrop

Sue Lotz

Claire Macy

Karen McCarthy

Chris Mills

Tara Olivo-Moore

John Sopka --- Treasurer

Carolyn Perkins

Edward Perkins

Iris Staub

Liz Strachan

Melinda Stewart

Contact Us
bottom of page